Home      Contact Us     

Southwest NAHRO
Charles L. Farris

2018 Charles L. Farris Award Application

Southwest NAHRO has been honoring the work and dedication of Mr. Charles L. Farris for 33 years by awarding a deserving individual the “Charles L. Farris” Award each year during the Southwest NAHRO Annual Conference.  The 2018 winner will be honored at the Charles L. Farris Award Banquet at the Southwest Regional Council of NAHRO’s Annual Conference in Little Rock, AR, June 25-28, 2018. 

Charles L. Farris was known and remembered by many in the industry as “Mr. Urban Renewal” because of his extensive involvement in the rejuvenation of St. Louis, Missouri. Charley, as he was affectionately known, had a career in housing and community development that spanned nearly four decades. From 1949 – 1953, Farris was the Deputy Director of HUD’s predecessor agency, the Housing and Home Finance Agency.  He then moved to St. Louis to work for the Land Clearance and Redevelopment Authority (LCRA) where he was the Executive Director from 1953 – 1989, serving under five of the city’s mayors.  Farris may have been best known in St. Louis for his role in building Busch Stadium on an 82 acre formerly blighted site.  The construction of that stadium and the nearby city landmark Arch are credited as being the catalysts to the rebirth of Downtown St. Louis.  During his long tenure at LCRA, the agency completed the development of several important projects that helped rejuvenate the city.  More than $1 billion in public funds generated $4.3 billion in total development, creating 75,000 permanent jobs and 13,000 housing units under Farris’ direction.  After retiring from government service in 1989, he started his own construction and development firm, The Farris Group. Charles L. Farris was steadfast in his support and dedication to NAHRO.

In 1983, Southwest NAHRO established the Charles L. Farris Award to honor Charley.  The award is given annually to a person who has shown a personal commitment to the future of housing and redevelopment.  The Charles L. Farris award is the most prestigious award an individual can receive from Southwest NAHRO.  

Applicant must be an active Southwest NAHRO Member and must have served at all three levels of service – State Chapter, SW Regional Chapter, and the National Chapter.  This application, along with a detailed narrative description of the nominee, copies of supporting documentation (articles, commendations, awards, etc.), including specific types and dates of NAHRO service should be submitted to:

Southwest NAHRO Service Office
2018 Charles L. Farris Award
12246 FM 1769
Graham, Texas 76450

DEADLINE!!!  Deadline for entry is January 19, 2018

Applications will be reviewed by the Farris Award Committee and the winner will be honored at the 2018 Southwest NAHRO Annual Conference in Little Rock, AR, June 25-28, 2018. 




Click here to submit by mail
Click here to submit online



©2008 Southwest NAHRO - All Rights Reserved