State Basket Raffle Winners

 The Southwest NAHRO State Basket raffle was a very successful fundraiser for the Scholarship Program raising $567. Thanks for your support!

Congratulations to the winners of the State Basket Raffle!

Frank Wilcox
Monroe Housing Authority, LA

Sherry Swendson
Atchison Housing Authority, KS

Kelly Stoker
Eastern Regional Housing Authority, NM

Donna Land
Bossier Parish Section 8 Housing, LA

Dodi Salazar
Santa Fe County Housing Authority, NM

Anita Kennedy
Houston Housing Authority, MO

Carol Branham
Nevada Housing Authority, MO

      Southwest NAHRO’s 69th Annual Conference held June 26 - 30, 2009 in St. Louis, MO was a great success with more than 350 attendees from the Southwest region who met us in St. Louis!  The conference featured informative speakers, engaging interactive sessions, exhibits, entertainment and multiple networking opportunities. The exhibit hall was filled with 36 vendors offering a wide variety of products.
Attendees were welcomed at the Opening General Session by The Honorable Charlie A. Dooley, St. Louis County Executive.  The attendees were then entertained by the Family Investment Center of St. Louis County Housing Authority Drum Line.  NAHRO's Saul N. Ramirez, Jr. gave the keynote address and updated the attendees on the current status of the housing industry.  Southwest NAHRO’s own Larry Hopkins and Homer Thompson performed a special version of "Who's on First" and even though we still don't know who is on first or what is on second, they gave a great performance!  There were more than 50 First Time Attendees at the Southwest NAHRO Conference who were recognized and presented a small token to welcome them to the organization during the First Time Attendee Recognition Ceremony.  The day was concluded with the Missouri NAHRO Welcome Reception with Exhibitors.
The training agenda at the Southwest NAHRO conference was one of the best, including sessions  on the Hatch Act, Capital Fund Program & Stimulus Package, PH & HCV Rent Calculations / New Rules, FY 2009 Voucher Funding Crisis, Cooperative Purchasing Concepts and Project-Based Procurement, USDA Programs, Energy Audits & Allowances, Public Housing & HCV Applicant Screening, Section Eight Voucher Reform Act (SEVRA), Fair Housing for Commissioners, Financial Management for Asset Management, Preparing for Onsite Reviews, Fannie Mae’s toolbox of products, Accounting Requirements for Stimulus Funds, NAHRO CR&D Update, Preparing for IRS Audits, Utilizing Tax Credits, and much more.  Based on the vast number of names on the session sign in sheets most everyone should have walked away with new information to take back to their agencies.  In addition, those who remained in the sessions to the very end were presented with drawing tickets for a chance to win $100 cash and 2 tickets to the Tuesday Evening Cardinals Game.  The more sessions you attended the more chances you had to win!

The Southwest 2009 Agency and Individual Awards and the 2009 Scholarships were presented during Monday’s Luncheon followed by an encouraging speech from Cheryl D. Walker, Bryan Cave, LLP.  After a long day of sessions attendees were able to put on their fanciest clothes and enjoy cocktails with the exhibitors prior to the Charles L. Farris Banquet.  The Charles L. Farris award is the most prestigious award an individual can receive from Southwest NAHRO, and this years’ recipient was J. D. Foster from the Muskogee Oklahoma Housing Authority.  Mike & Company Band closed out the evening with live music and dancing. 

The Exhibitor Recognition Luncheon on Tuesday provided an opportunity for Southwest NAHRO to thank the vendors for participating in the annual conference as well as show our appreciation.   Southwest NAHRO started a new tradition of drawing for a complimentary exhibit booth for the next years’ conference and the winner of the booth for the 2010 Annual Conference was EPHAD.  Justin Ormsby introduced DJ Lavoy, Senior Advisor to the Deputy Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of HUD to close our luncheon with a keynote address updating attendee’s on the current happenings at HUD. 

The Annual Business Meeting closed the conference with the election of the 2009 – 2011 Southwest NAHRO Officers.  In addition to the State Basket Raffle, the Member Services Survey drawing for the Free Registration to the 2010 Southwest NAHRO Annual Conference and $50 cash was held and the winner was Eva Shults from Corpus Christi, Texas. 

Southwest NAHRO appreciates and values the support of our agencies and industry colleagues for their participation in yet another successful Annual Conference.

Save the date.......... Mark your calendars now!

The 70th Annual Southwest NAHRO Conference will be held in Springdale Arkansas June 12 – 17, 2010 at the Holiday Inn & Northwest AR Convention Center

Southwest Upcoming Events

2009 Transitional Committee Meetings

2010 Winter Committee Meetings

2010 Southwest NAHRO Maintenance Conference

Calendar of events for the Southwest Region

Charles L. Farris Award

The 2009 Charles L. Farris Award Recipient is

J. D. Foster
Executive Director
Muskogee Housing Authority, Oklahoma


Congratulations J.D.  






Registration Infomation

Photo Gallery

Special Awards


Guest Speakers

State Baskets


Job Postings

Click here for the latest Job Postings in the Southwest Region

Cooking With Southwest

Did you forget to purchase your copy of the Southwest NAHRO Cookbook? Order your copy today!


HUD Releases DRAFT Proposed Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA) for Rental Assistance for Non-Elderly Persons with Disabilities

On June 22, 2009 HUD announced the opportunity for the public to submit comments in response to a draft proposed Notice of Funding Availability for rental assistance for non-elderly persons with disabilities. This draft NOFA announces the future availability of $30 million in funding for approximately 4,000 Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HCV) for non-elderly disabled households. Click here for a complete copy of the draft NOFA.

These vouchers were appropriated by Congress in the Fiscal Year (FY) 2009 HUD Budget. Specifically, the Appropriations language states: More>>